Home » , , , , » JDU-RJD sealed seat sharing deal for upcoming Bihar Assembly Elections

JDU-RJD sealed seat sharing deal for upcoming Bihar Assembly Elections

Written By Unknown on Thursday, 13 August 2015 | 13.8.15

Nitish Kumar led Janta Dal United (JDU) and Lalu Prasad Yadav’s Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD) decided to fight 100 seats each to form grand alliance for Bihar Assembly Elections. Congress Party would contest 40 seats while 3 seats are offer for Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) it they join the alliance.

Total number of seats in Bihar Assembly are 243 and RJD-JDU combine is fighting fierce battle with BJP led NDA to regain power. During 2010 polls, JDU and BJP fought as an alliance where JDU won 115 seats while RJD was demolished to just 22 seats. Congress is trying its luck although with just 4 MLAs in outgoing assembly, party is looking at double digits at best.

During Lok Sabha 2014, BJP won 22 seats out of 40 while its ally Ramvilas Paswan’s LJP bagged 6 seats and smaller party BLSP won 3 taking total tally of NDA at 31 seats. Fighting alone, JDU got badly beaten winning just 2 seats while RJD fared better compared with Nitish Kumar with 4 seats.

For upcoming assembly polls, NItish Kumar is a candidate for JDU-RJD alliance while NDA has not announced its prospective CM’s name.

Bihar elections are always dominated by caste combination. Although, off late issue of development has gained importance for voters. With increasing dominance of Narendra Modi as a leader, more like minded parties such as Samajwadi Party (SP) and left parties may join RJD-JDU alliance to avoid vote division. Interestingly, Aam Aadmi Party is not contesting Bihar polls and would oppose NDA during campaign.        

Share this article :

Post a Comment


Copyright © 2012. Insights - All Rights Reserved