Home » , , , , » West Indies is the new World T20 Champions

West Indies is the new World T20 Champions

Written By Unknown on Sunday, 7 October 2012 | 7.10.12

West Indies cricket experienced old glory when they defeated host Sri Lanka in World T20 finals by 36 runs. Darren Sammy’s spirited team fought hard against all odds to beat mighty Lankans in their own backyard to create history.
Winning the toss, West Indies opted to bat first but was in trouble when Chris Gayle went back to the pavilion scoring just 3 runs of 16 balls. However, Marvan Samuels batted extremely well to score 78 runs of just 56 balls with 6 sixers to take West Indies at respectable score of 137/6 in 20 overs. Bravo with 19 runs and captain Sammy with brisk 26 runs not out of just 15 balls played vital supporting role. For Sri Lanka, Off-spinner Mendis took 4 wickets for 12 runs while Malinga gave away 54 runs in his 4 overs.
Chasing the target of 138 runs, Sri Lanka lost its attacking opener Dilshan for a duck. Although, experienced pair of Sangakkara and captain Jayawardene tried to steady the ship it wasn’t enough in front of disciplined West Indian attack. All the bowlers bowled extremely well led by Narine who took 3 wickets for just 9 runs.   
Marvan Samuels named man of the match for his all-round contribution of 78 runs and 1 wicket while Australia’s all-rounder Shane Watson declared as man of the series. Incidentally, this is Sri Lanka’s fourth consecutive loss in the finals of the World Cup tournament.

Share this article :

Post a Comment


Copyright © 2012. Insights - All Rights Reserved